Public Law 90-542 (Original Wild and Scenic Rivers Act)

Date enacted
Oct 1, 1968

The original legislation. It protected the first 8 rivers (Clearwater, Eleven Point, Feather, Rio Grande, Rogue, St. Croix, Salmon (Idaho), and Wolf), and identified 27 additional rivers for study—Allegheny (Pennsylvania); Bruneau, Moyie, Priest, St. Joe, Salmon (Idaho), Buffalo (Tennessee); Chattooga (Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina); Clarion (Pennsylvania); Delaware (New York, Pennsylvania); Flathead (Montana); Gasconade (Missouri); Illinois (Oregon); Little Beaver Creek, Little Miami (Ohio); Maumee (Indiana, Ohio); Missouri (Montana); Obed (Tennssee); Penobscot (Maine); Pere Marquette, Pine (Michigan); Rio Grande (Texas); St. Croix (Minnesota, Wisconsin); Skagit (Washington); Suwannee (Florida, Georgia); Upper Iowa (Iowa); and Youghiogheny (Maryland).

Law/order title
Public Law 90-542
Designation action type