Wild & Scenic Stewardship Award Winners

U.S. Forest Service & River Network Announce The 2023 Grant Recipients
August 2, 2023

The U.S. Forest Service and River Network have announced the 2023 Stewardship Partner award winners—and added additional grants for relationship building! Now in its fifth year, these grants focus on the thousands of miles of rivers that the Forest Service administers across the country and in Puerto Rico. This years winners are:

  • Alabama’s Mountains, Rivers, and Valleys Resource Conservation and Development Council for the Sipsey Fork of the West Fork River.
  • Catawba Riverkeeper Foundation in North Carolina for their work on Wilson Creek.
  • Curry Watersheds Partnership for Oregon’s Elk and Chetco Rivers.
  • Friends of the Inyo in California for the Owens River Headwaters, Cottonwood Creek, and the South Fork of the Kern River.
  • Idaho Rivers United for the Salmon River system.
  • Inland Empire Waterkeeper in California for the North Fork of the San Jacinto River.
  • Kentucky Waterways Alliance for the Red River.
  • Middle Fork Willamette Watershed Council in Oregon for the North Fork of the Middle Fork Willamette River.
  • New Mexico Wild for the Rio Chama.
  • Salmon Valley Stewardship in Idaho for the main stem of the Salmon River.
  • Tuolumne River Trust for California’s Tuolumne River.
  • Upper Merced River Watershed Council, again in California, for the Merced River.

For more details on the award winners and their work, please visit River Network's web site.